DEVELOPING: Congressman Jeff Landry Leads Effort to Stop All Obama Recess Appointments

WASHINGTON, DC – Fighting for transparency and public trust, Congressman Jeff Landry (R, LA-03) has started an effort to stop recess appointments. The Congressman is leading a large Freshmen coalition letter requesting all appropriate measures be taken by House leadership to prevent any recess appointments by the President for the remainder of the 112th Congress.

The letter urges Speaker John Boehner, Majority Leader Eric Cantor, and Majority Whip Kevin McCarthy to prevent further recess appointments and provide the Senate the ability to perform their Constitutional duties of scrutinizing the appointments made by President Obama.

Landry said the American people’s relentless desire for an open, transparent government must be met. “Recess appointments are intended to maintain the continuity of administrative government during periods when the Senate is not in session. They are for situations when nominees cannot be considered or confirmed, not for political expediency. My colleagues and I are fully committed to fighting for the American people and against politically-motivated recess appointments.”

“We understand that our request will very likely mean that the House of Representatives will meet no less than once every three days for the remainder of 2011 and all of 2012. To address this possibility, we stand ready to assist you in ensuring there are always sufficient members to cover the necessary pro forma sessions,” wrote Landry’s coalition to the House Leaders.

Already, the letter has 57 signatures.

Congressman Landry was one of the behind-the-scenes leaders of the effort to stop recess appointments during the most recent recess. This letter furthers that commitment.

The current list of letter signers are Congressmen Jeff Landry (LA-03), Austin Scott (GA-08), Lou Barletta (PA-11), Dan Benishek (MI-01), Rick Berg (ND-01), Ann Marie Buerkle (NY-25), Diane Black (TN-06), Larry Bucshon (IN-08), Quico Canseco (TX-23), Chip Cravaack (MN-08), Rick Crawford (AR-01), Jeff Denham (CA-19), Scott DesJarlais (TN-04), Bob Dold (IL-10), Jeff Duncan (SC-03), Renee Ellmers (NC-02), Blake Farenthold (TX-27), Stephen Fincher (TN-08), Mike Fitzpatrick (PA-08), Chuck Fleischmann (TN-03), Bill Flores (TX-17), Chris Gibson (NY-20), Paul Gosar (AZ-01), Trey Gowdy (SC-04), Tom Graves (GA-09), Nan Hayworth (NY-19), Joe Heck (NV-03), Tim Huelskamp (KS-01), Bill Huizenga (MI-02), Randy Hultgren (IL-14), Bill Johnson (OH-06), Mike Kelly (PA-03), Adam Kinzinger (IL-11), Raul Labrador (ID-01), James Lankford (OK-05), Tom Marino (PA-10), Mick Mulvaney (SC-05), Richard Nugent (FL-05), Steven Palazzo (MS-04), Mike Pompeo (KS-04), Benjamin Quayle (AZ-03), Scott Rigell (VA-02), David Rivera (FL-25), Todd Rokita (IN-04), Dennis Ross (FL-12), Bobby Schilling (IL-17), David Schweikert (AZ-05), Tim Scott (SC-01), Steve Southerland (FL-02), Steve Stivers (OH-15), Scott Tipton (CO-03), Tim Walberg (MI-07), Joe Walsh (IL-08), Allen West (FL-22), Steve Womack (AR-03), Rob Woodall (GA-07), Kevin Yoder (KS-03), and Todd Young (IN-09).


Source: DEVELOPING: Congressman Jeff Landry Leads Effort to Stop All Obama Recess Appointments



Interested in more national news? We've got you covered! See More National News
Previous Article
Next Article

Trending on The Hayride