Louisiana Candidate Filing (Filing Has Closed)

Candidate filing has closed in Louisiana for the 2010 elections.  There were a significant number of last minute qualifiers, so we are providing a summary, as well as a list of qualifiers:

(click here to view the list of qualifying candidates)

U.S. Senate/U.S. House –  Party Primary August 28, Party Runoff (if necessary) October 2, General Election November 2

Only Charles Boustany (R-Lafayette) escaped any opposition. The Senate race features 17 candidates, with contested Democratic, Republican, and Libertarian primaries;

(7/13 update – “Joseph” Cao’s sole primary opponent, Norman Billiot, has withdrawn, leaving Rep. Cao unopposed in the August 28 primary)

Statewide October 2 Primaries, with Runoff (if necessary) Election November 2

PSC Member Clyde Holloway (R-Forest Hill) was re-elected without opposition to a full term. PSC Member Lambert Boissiere (D-New Orleans) received opposition from John Schwegmann;

There are 9 candidates running for Lieutenant Governor;

State Senate District 2- New Orleans Democrats Mike Darnell, Gilbert J. Etienne, Ira Thomas, Edward Washington, and Cynthia Willard-Lewis are running for this seat;.

State Representative District 5 – Term limited incumbent Wayne Waddell (R-Shreveport) will resign effective August 1 to take a museum director’s job. Filing for this office will not be until August, although conservative Alan Seabaugh (who ran for the state Senate in 2007 against Sherri Cheek and nearly won) has expressed interest.



Interested in more news from Louisiana? We've got you covered! See More Louisiana News
Previous Article
Next Article

Trending on The Hayride