2019 Election Qualifying Day 1 Roundup

The day 1 live blog by McAoidh

Tuesday marked the first day of qualifying in the 2019 statewide elections. The theme in several races was revenge as candidates who lost special elections over the past couple of years qualified for rematches.

We’re going to have a rematch between Republican Kyle Ardoin and Democrat Gwen Collins-Greenup for Secretary of State. Ardoin won last year’s special election 59.3% to 40.7%.

Barring something crazy and unforeseen, we’re getting a rematch for Treasurer between Republican John Schroder and Democrat Derrick Edwards. Edwards qualified on Tuesday while Schroder has yet to qualify. Schroder won the 2017 special election 55.7% to 44.3%.

We’re also getting a rematch in House District 90 between Republicans Mary DuBuisson and John Raymond. DuBuission defeated Raymond in a special election last year 61% to 39%.

Statewide Races Take Shape

The governor’s race saw all three major candidates qualify on Tuesday. Democrat John Bel Edwards and Republicans Ralph Abraham and Eddie Rispone are in. Independent Gary Landrieu, the only other candidate who has advertised, did not qualify on Tuesday. Two other minor candidates, Democrat Oscar “Omar” Dantzler and Republican Patrick “Live Wire” Landry qualified.


So far Republican incumbent Billy Nungesser is the only candidate qualified so far for Lt. Governor and Republican incumbent Jeff Landry is the only candidate qualified so far for Attorney General.

Agriculture Commissioner Mike Strain drew two opponents, Democrats Marguerite Green and Peter Williams.

Insurance Commissioner Jim Donelon drew his expected opponent, Republican Tim Temple.

Republicans Have Chance To Make Gains

So far, Republicans have a chance to make gains in the Louisiana House even without an election. In House District 50, two Republicans, Chet Howard and Vincent J. St. Blanc III have qualified for the seat, which is currently held by Democrat Sam Jones. Javon Charles and Raymond Harris Jr., both with no party affiliation, have also qualified.

Libertarians Qualify In Baton Rouge

In 2015, the Libertarian Party did not field any legislative. So far in 2019, they’re fielding four in the Baton Rouge area. Everett Baudean qualified in Senate District 16, David Smith qualified in House District 66, Ryan Chase Lee qualified in House District 69, and Mallory Mayeux qualified in House District 70.




Interested in more national news? We've got you covered! See More National News
Previous Article
Next Article

Trending on The Hayride