Here Are The New Orleans Church Leaders Who Want Lee Circle Removed For Politically Correct Reasons

More than 70 New Orleans clergy members have signed a letter throwing their support behind Mayor Mitch Landrieu in the fight to remove four Confederate-related monuments, including Lee Circle in the Central Business District and PGT Beauregard in City Park.

The group, known as ‘Clergy for a United City,’ said in their letter to the citizens of New Orleans that symbols are significant and therefore Lee Circle, PGT Beauregard, Liberty Monument and the Jefferson Davis monument must be removed.

Here’s what they wrote:

In their current state, lacking any proper context, these monuments do not teach us about the past. They reflect a deafening silence about Jim Crow culture.

Statues such as the Statue of Jefferson Davis located at the corner of Canal Street and Jefferson Davis Parkway, Robert E. Lee in Lee Circle formerly known as Tivoli Circle, the memorial inscription at the Monument of The Battle of Liberty Place and the statue of General P.G.T Beauregard at the entrance to City Park are living links to past crimes against our common humanity. As symbols in our growing international city, these monuments belong not in our public line of sight, but in museums where context and education may be given and learned from.

Of course, these church leader’s approach, while potentially good intentioned, is a direct validation to the politically correct crowd in the city fighting to remove the monuments and Landrieu.

The slippery-slope that removing historical landmarks could lead to would be unprecedented.

Would these same clergy people be okay with religious street names being changed because some atheist or LGBT groups find them offensive?

And would these clergy people be satisfied with the city coming and policing what they can and cannot preach, as has happened in other parts of the country and in Canada?

These are the questions that must be asked. For now, though, we will provide you with the full list of clergy people who signed on to this politically correct idea to purge the South of history that represents a time period. Here’s the list:

Pastor C. S. Gordon, Jr., President, Louisiana Missionary Baptist State Convention; Pastor, New Zion Baptist Church
Dr. David Crosby, Senior Pastor, First Baptist Church, New Orleans
Pastor Fred Luter, Past President, Southern Baptist Convention; Pastor, Franklin Avenue Baptist Church
The Very Reverend David duPlantier, Dean, Christ Church Cathedral (Episcopal)
Rev. Shawn Anglim, Pastor, First Grace United Methodist Church
Rev. Antoine Barriere, Senior Pastor, Household of Faith Family Worship Church
Dr. Darryl S. Brister, Pastor, Beacon Light International Baptist Cathedral
Dr. Debra Morton, Full Gospel Baptist Church Fellowship
Dr. Torin Sanders, Pastor, The Sixth Baptist Church
Bishop Tommie Triplett, Jr., Pastor, United Fellowship Full Gospel Baptist Church
Rev. Jimmy Autry, Pastor, Cornerstone Christian Center
Rev. Elvin J. Bazile, Jr., Pastor, Christian Congregational Baptist Church
Fr. Walter Baer, Episcopal Diocese of Louisiana
Rev. Paul Beedle, First Unitarian Universalist Church of New Orleans
Rev. Irvin Bell, Elder, Castle Rock Community Church
Rev. Jeffery Benn, Jr., Pastor, Full Harvest Ministries
Rabbi Alexis Berk, Touro Synagogue
Rev. Donald R. Berryhill, Pastor, First Zion Baptist Church
Rev. Joseph Brooks, Pastor, Greater Morning Star Missionary Baptist Church
Rev. Simon Chigumira, Asbury United Methodist Church
Deacon Elaine Clements, Episcopal Diocese of Louisiana
The Very Rev. Ronald Clingenpeel, The Episcopal Church
Rabbi Edward Cohn, Congregation Temple Sinai
Rev. John Craft, Chaplain, Episcopal Chapel of the Holy Comforter, SUNO & UNO
Rev. Anita Dinwiddie, St. Mark’s United Methodist Church
Bishop Joe Doss, Retired, Episcopal Diocese of Louisiana
Rev. Nathaniel Dowl, III, Pastor, Greater St. James Baptist Church
Rev. J. C. Dyson, Pastor, Sr., Holy Faith Temple
Rev. Lisa Fitzpatrick, Pastor, Hartzell United Methodist Church
Rabbi Allen I. Freehling, Retired
Rev. Willie Gable, Pastor, Progressive Baptist Church
Rev. Dr. JoAnn Garma, Director of Pastoral, Supervisor, Association for Clinical Pastoral Education (Retired)
Rev. Roger Graham, Pastor, Greater St. Peter Missionary Baptist Church
Rev. O. D. Grant, Sr., Pastor, St. Paul Baptist Church
Rev. Willie Green, Pastor, First Mission Baptist Church; Rising Sun Missionary Baptist Association
Rabbi Gabriel Greenberg, Congregation Beth Israel
Rev. Morgan Guyton, NOLA Wesley United Methodist campus ministry, Tulane and Loyola Universities
Rev. Lonzo L. Hamilton, Sr., Pastor, St. Matthew Missionary Baptist Church
Rev. J. L. Hampton, Sr., Pastor, St. Mark and Eastern Star Baptist Churches
The Very Rev. A. J. Heine, Rector, St. Augustine’s Episcopal Church, Metairie
Pastor Frederick Henderson, Pastor, The Rock Full Gospel Baptist Church
Bishop Jerry Henry, Sr., Pastor, Dominion and Power Ministries
Rev. Percy Howard, Pastor, Restoration Baptist Church
Rev. Daniel Hudson, St. John’s Episcopal Church, Kenner
Rev. Creal James, Sr., Pastor, Mount Triumph Baptist Church
Rev. Chris Janeau, Pastor, Victory Church
Rev. Donald C. Jeanjacques, Pastor, True Vine Missionary Baptist Church
Rev. Ernest Johnson, Pastor, Greater Mt. Carmel Baptist Church
Rev. Ricky Johnson, Pastor, Mt. Olive Baptist Church
Rev. Louis Jones, Pastor, St. John Institutional Missionary Baptist Church
Rev. Reginald Landry, Pastor, First Evangelist Missionary Baptist Church
Rev. Henry Lawrence III, Willing Workers Missionary Baptist Church
Rabbi Robert Loewy, Congregation Gates of Prayer
Rev. Lester Love, Pastor, The City of Love Church
Rev. Melanie Morel-Ensminger, Greater New Orleans Unitarian Universalists
Rev. James Morrison, Rector, St. Andrew’s Episcopal Church
Pastor Robert Myers, Pastor, Greater Emmanuel Missionary Baptist Church, 2nd Mt. Calvary Missionary Baptist Church
Rev. Duane Nettles, Rector, Church of the Annunciation (Episcopal)
Rev. Reginald Nicholas, Sr., Pastor, Olive Branch Baptist Church, Moderator, Cornerstone Missionary Baptist General Association
Rev. Hill Riddle, Retired, Trinity Episcopal Church
Rev. Mitchell Smith, Associate Rector, Trinity Episcopal Church
Rev. Cory Sparks, Parker United Methodist Church
Rev. Albert Stewart, Jr., Pastor, Spirit of Liberty Baptist Church
Rev. William Thiele, Pastor, Parker Memorial United Methodist Church
Rev. Edward H. Thompson, Rector, All Souls Episcopal Church
The Rev. Bridget Tierney, Advent House / Christ Church Episcopal Cathedral
Rev. Jim VanderWeele, Pastor, Community Church Unitarian Universalists
Rev. Deanna Vandiver, Greater New Orleans Unitarian Universalists
Rev. C. E. Washington, Pastor, Fairview Baptist Church
Rev. Tom Watson, Pastor, Watson Memorial Church
Rev. Callie Winn Crawford, United Methodist Pastor
Rev. Melvin Zeno, Pastor, St. Joseph Missionary Baptist Church



Interested in more news from Louisiana? We've got you covered! See More Louisiana News
Previous Article
Next Article

Trending on The Hayride

No trending posts were found.