2,307 borrowers in Louisiana filed for student loan forgiveness in 2nd quarter

Borrowers in Louisiana who sought forgiveness of their student loans in the second quarter of 2019 numbered 2,307, according to a new state-by-state analysis by the U.S. Department of Education.

The department reported that it approved 273 student-loan discharge applications from Louisiana residents during the second quarter, with 1,953 applications still pending. Student loan funds that were discharged in the state from April to June amounted to $4 million, the 27th highest among the 50 states and the District of Columbia.

The federal Higher Education Act allows those who have taken out student loans to seek forgiveness of the debt in the event that the college or university deceives the student in some way or violates certain state statutes.

To gain loan forgiveness, students need to file an attestation about why they should receive debt relief. Those whose applications are approved won’t have to pay any interest during the application-processing period, according to the Department of Education.

Student Loan Forgiveness Data, State by State

Borrower State of Residence Total Received Pending Approved Total Discharged Rank Based on Total Amount Discharged
California 58,221 39,802 15,047 $181,534,402 1
Florida 23,089 18,585 3,230 $42,988,608 2
Massachusetts 7,081 2,967 3,857 $30,668,621 3
Texas 21,413 16,638 3,464 $25,655,187 4
Georgia 12,153 9,494 1,875 $21,052,061 5
Washington 9,369 6,424 2,289 $18,933,760 6
Illinois 13,918 10,908 1,727 $14,977,977 7
North Carolina 7,096 5,848 976 $14,869,393 8
Michigan 7,535 5,645 1,463 $14,153,986 9
Hawaii 2,767 1,554 913 $12,586,221 10
Pennsylvania 8,014 6,616 972 $12,221,510 11
Oregon 3,934 2,815 836 $10,492,104 12
Ohio 8,505 7,378 841 $10,464,715 13
Virginia 6,372 4,983 1,039 $10,213,707 14
New York 8,010 6,999 699 $9,693,155 15
Colorado 4,596 3,608 774 $8,620,865 16
Missouri 5,320 4,346 729 $7,151,531 17
Nevada 3,634 2,982 433 $6,375,115 18
South Carolina 3,145 2,661 382 $6,033,202 19
Indiana 5,428 4,663 522 $5,863,532 20
Tennessee 4,112 3,658 359 $5,714,017 21
Maryland 4,175 3,496 369 $5,222,339 22
Mississippi 2,133 1,665 342 $4,884,964 23
Minnesota 4,466 3,696 643 $4,859,559 24
New Jersey 4,554 3,873 515 $4,527,620 25
Alabama 2,905 2,505 307 $4,442,081 26
Louisiana 2,307 1,953 273 $4,015,068 27
Arizona 4,938 4,518 307 $3,850,660 28
Kentucky 2,642 2,402 177 $3,021,453 29
Wisconsin 3,233 2,830 231 $2,842,269 30
Arkansas 1,437 1,148 235 $2,693,604 31
West Virginia 1,334 1,024 230 $2,475,106 32
Kansas 1,478 1,307 138 $2,074,561 33
Utah 1,729 1,472 182 $1,821,799 34
Iowa 1,159 974 147 $1,681,706 35
Oklahoma 1,662 1,475 137 $1,618,205 36
Connecticut 1,181 1,019 130 $1,467,437 37
Idaho 944 816 109 $1,242,733 38
Nebraska 795 670 101 $1,050,695 39
New Mexico 989 890 87 $1,023,916 40
Wyoming 383 262 109 $1,023,545 41
Delaware 472 382 70 $997,437 42
New Hampshire 505 392 97 $975,557 43
Montana 447 366 64 $889,874 44
District of Columbia 636 494 81 $797,028 45
Alaska 290 218 56 $688,928 46
Maine 425 347 62 $685,578 47
Rhode Island 368 312 46 $612,237 48
South Dakota 346 286 49 $559,250 49
North Dakota 266 216 43 $432,410 50
Vermont 154 109 36 $300,486 51

Source: U.S. Department of Education

This article was first published by The Center Square.

Interested in more national news? We've got you covered! See More National News
Previous Article
Next Article