16 Congressional Races Head To Delayed Primary Runoff In Texas

Sixteen federal races, 15 for the U.S. House and one for U.S. Senate, are headed to runoff in what may be a low-profile election in the middle of a hot Texas summer.

The Texas Primary Runoff is set for July 14, with early voting starting June 29 and ending July 10 (extended by week by Gov. Greg Abbott).

Here’s where it gets tricky: the primary runoff was originally scheduled to take place on May 26, but was postponed over coronavirus restrictions. This has led to several legal and administration skirmishes over whether the elections should be postponed further or whether mail-in balloting should be expanded for those afraid of contracting COVID-19. The Texas Supreme Court ruled that mail-in ballot options will continue as they did in previous elections.


With the coronavirus situation, candidates have found it difficult to do door-to-door block-walking. With summer vacations taking place will voters even be home or aware of the runoff? Many other questions remain such as will voters remember who the primary contenders even were by then, and will the issues that determined the top-two candidates still be in play this summer? Things may be turn out radically different for the candidates this July up and down the ballot, but it appears the election date is now set in stone and voters will be largely expected to appear in person.

Here is a list of the federal races appearing on Texas primary runoff ballots:



  • U.S. Senate: Mary Jennings Hegar versus Texas Sen. Royce West (to face Republican nominee incumbent John Cornyn)
  • Congress (TX-2): Elisa Cardnell, Sima Ladjevardian (to face Republican nominee incumbent Dan Crenshaw)
  • Congress (TX-3): Sean McCaffity, Lulu Seikaly (to face Republican nominee incumbent Van Taylor)
  • Congress (TX-10): Pritesh Gandhi, Mike Siegel (to face Republican nominee incumbent Michael McCaul)
  • Congress (TX-13): Greg Sagan, Gus Trujillo (to face winner of Republican runoff — see GOP field below)
  • Congress (TX-17): David Jaramillo, Rick Kennedy (to face winner of Republican runoff — see GOP field below)
  • Congress (TX-24): Kim Olson, Candace Valenzuela (to face Republican nominee Beth Van Duyne)
  • Congress (TX-31): Donna Imam, Christine Mann (to face Republican nominee incumbent John Carter)


  • Congress (TX-13): Ronny L. Jackson, Josh Winegarner (to face winner of Democratic runoff — see Democrat field above)
  • Congress (TX-15): Monica De La Cruz, Ryan Krause (to face Democratic nominee Vicente Gonzalez Jr.)
  • Congress (TX-16): Irene Armendariz-Jackson, Samuel Williams Jr. (to face Democratic nominee Veronica Escobar)
  • Congress (TX-17): Robert Cadena, Wendell Champion (to face Democratic nominee incumbent Sheila Jackson Lee)
  • Congress (TX-20): Gary Allen, Mauro Garza (to face Democratic nominee incumbent Joaquin Castro)
  • Congress (TX-22): Troy Nehls, Kathaleen Wall (to face Democratic nominee incumbent Sri Preston Kulkarni)
  • Congress (TX-23): Tony Gonzales, Raul Reyes Jr. (to face Democratic nominee Gina Ortiz Jones)
  • Congress (TX-35): Jenny Garcia Sharon, William Hayward (to face Democratic nominee incumbent Lloyd Doggett)

Note: Text links are for informational purposes only, to indicate prior coverage in The Hayride.



Interested in more news from Texas? We've got you covered! See More Texas News
Previous Article
Next Article

Trending on The Hayride